High Percentage Baits – Discovering Laminates

This is the Xtreme Bass Tackle trailer that started the business. It was used at a single location and at certain tournaments from 1999 through 2001.

Back in 1999 and 2000 it was nearly impossible to get anglers to throw anything with purple on smallmouth bass. In my tackle trailer I would have to give away samples of what is now called Canadian Mist (the #1 color all time – a smoke colored plastic with small gold and small purple flake) and smallmouth anglers in some cases wouldn’t even take the free ones. They would say, “That’s a largemouth color.” My how times have changed…

So I’m fishing with a friend of mine out on the St. Clair River for smallmouth and unknown to me at the time he had planned a little surprise. We had been fishing for awhile that day and ended up on one of our favorite spots which was loaded with finicky smallmouth. He pulls out a pack of the most hideous colored tubes (nothing natural about this one), throws it at me and said, “You like purple? Catch something on this.” No doubt he had heard me preaching about the purple advantage and figured he “had me.” The angler in me was not loving this bait but the researcher in me was open to the challenge.

I then proceeded to out-fish him with the bait.

What I learned that day wasn’t so much about the purple color but the laminated design of the tube. A laminated tube being a two-tone bait with one color on top and a different color on the bottom. Over the years I have found it to be a high percentage choice for all colors fished in the river but also in the lake part of the system. They really make a difference by upping the bite percentage.

(c) Wayne Carpenter

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “High Percentage Baits – Discovering Laminates”

  1. Michael Dix Says:

    I have enjoyed reading your post on the St.Clair area.I fish lake St.Clair often. I also have been haveing a problem ordering up some of your Extreme baits on line. Should I just call and place my order on the phone?
    I also have heard that there are several ship wrecks on lake St. Claire.
    Could you give me some direction as to where they are? I was wondering if I could find thses GPS coordinates in one of your books?
    Thanks for your time,
    Michael Dix

    • Wayne Carpenter Says:

      Calling will be fine (877) 485-2223. You can also see what’s happening with XBT on Ebay at: https://basstothefuture.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/changes-to-xtreme-bass-tackle-on-ebay/

      Other than small pieces of wrecks on St. Clair which are sprinkled throughout my information products I don’t have anything specific about full sized wrecks. There is one on the Strawberry Island Marked Map and a couple on the Middle Channel Marked Maps. Nothing specifically wreck related in the books yet. You might want to get into a forum at http://www.greatlakesbass.com and ask the guys there. They are very helpful. What wrecks there are on St. Clair are generally leftover pieces of structure that survive the shallow water environment although I did see a full sized cruiser down there once. The serious divers reserve their efforts for the wrecks on the St. Clair River and Lake Huron in our area. Those wrecks are generally in deeper water, better shape and the water clarity is much better than the connecting waters below. Many of those can be found easily with the NOAA charts or GPS unit software that includes information from the same.

Leave a Reply

