Sea-Drop(tm) Underwater Camera – First Contact with the Environment

If you’ve seen the underwater camera in action before then you’ll have big plans on what you want to go see. If you’ve never used one before then a new world of exploration awaits you. The first couple of trips I spent hours looking at sand, rocks and various species of algae with amazement. The whole thing was about putting together the pieces of my past experiences as an angler with all the assumptions about what I had been fishing and now the reality before my eyes. This world was full of zebra mussels, gobies, rock piles I hadn’t noticed, transitions between different types of weed and then it happened…

I came across my first school of fish which was not totally unexpected but nothing I had read, watched on TV or heard about prepared me for this: schools of drum, smallmouth, rock bass, walleye and white bass all together in one eddy but in separate schools. Prior to this moment, based on time of year, water temperature, depth and current I would have put one species in that spot at a time. This little bit of knowledge gained through the use of the underwater camera launched my confidence in keying on big smallies when other species in the area are being caught.

It wasn’t much after I started using the camera that the experimentation began. To use the stabilizer fin or not to use the fin? OK, found out that no fin added up to no stability. Hey, I said it was an experiment! The head would spin doing 360 degree swings back and forth with an occasional moment of stability. I wouldn’t recommend this after lunch. So when drifting, the fin is on and the camera is steady while I get a look at the bottom structure first hand and continue my quest to understand how the fish relate to it.

To get started I recommend making sure the batteries have a full charge then just go out and have fun. Once the desire kicks in to seek out specific spots some prior planning comes in real handy. Set up your plan to approach the spot before ever hitting the water. Think about what it is about this spot that interests you the most and have your video recording unit ready or pad of paper and pen to record the results. Record every data detail you can think of for future use: Date, time, wind speed, wind direction, water temperature, sky conditions, water quality, depth and leave room for comments. Do all of this and you can build a useful library of each experience to be used at a later date.

(c) 2010 Wayne Carpenter

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Sea-Drop(tm) Underwater Camera – First Contact with the Environment”

  1. SeaViewer™ Underwater Camera – Collect Video Clips of Your Favorite Fishing Spots #1 « Capt. Wayne Carpenter's Bass to the Future Seminars Says:

    […] Before hitting the water I recommend reading the post about making your first trip on the water: First Contact With The Environment Decide on a alphabetic/numeric format that will allow you to keep the tapes organized by body of […]

Leave a Reply

